250mc- Locations: Problems and Test shoots.

by gabriellefulton

Today I visited the history centre at the Herbert Art Gallery & Museum in Coventry. The centre consists of the local records office and archives dating from medieval times to the present. I thought this would be a perfect place for me to try and find some idea of the route Lady Godiva could have possibly taken as I have had no luck with finding anything related on the internet. I was directed to all the information they had on Lady Godiva, which ranged from books to newspaper clippings to leaflets and to play scripts dating back as far as around the 1920’s.

Untitled-1

Unfortunately, once again I could not find anything relating to a route or area of the town where Godiva might have ridden through. But what I was able to find was the locations that many of the Godiva festival processions have taken over the years, as seen down in the image down below. It is interesting to see the similarities and changes over the years to the route of the festivals.

Untitled1

Although it was a shame that I wasn’t able to find any suggestions of where Lady Godiva might have been, I am happy with what I have found through this extensive research. My initial idea was to show what the city is like now. By keeping some of the first locations I had looked at, for example, the car park with a beautiful view of   Coventry, intertwined with a few of the locations that are within the Godiva festival celebrations such as the war memorial park, I will be able to mix the modern day with the  city’s traditions which are held to celebrate Lady Godiva throughout my project.

Here a few images I took of a few of the locations I plan to take photographs at:

IMG_3893

IMG_3838

IMG_3839

IMG_3849

IMG_3870

IMG_3875

IMG_3887

IMG_2244

These are images from 3 of the areas I intend on using. As you can see each area shows changes that have happened to the city over the years whilst some are kept the same. Showing the new against the old is something I want to show throughout my still images.